DU Alum Named To College Football Playoff Committee

The College Football Playoff selection committee has officially been announced.

The committee will select four teams that will advance to the College Football Playoff starting after the 2014 regular season.

The committee will be responsible for ranking and placing teams in the non-contract New Year's Day bowls, also known as the Cotton Bowl, Fiesta Bowl and the Chick-fil-A Bowl. They will also select the highest ranked champion from the five non-power leagues (American, Conference USA, Mid-American, Mountain West and Sun Belt), and they will get a bid to one of the six CFP bowls. 

University of Arkansas Athletic Director Jeff Long, has been chosen as the chairman of the committee.

Former Secretary of State, Condoleezza Rice is one 13 committee members. Rice, 58, who attended The University of Denver (Bachelor's Degree in political science), The University of Notre Dame (Master's Degree in political science), Moscow State University in Russia (Studied Russian language/politics), Josef Korbel School of International Studies at the University of Denver (Ph.D. in political science), is also a trained concert pianist. She was an assistant professor of political science at Stanford University from 1981–1987, before being promoted to associate professor where she would remain until 1993. After serving as the Secretary of State under President George W. Bush, Rice returned to Stanford as a political science professor and senior fellow at the Hoover Institution in 2009.

Tyrone Willingham, who's daughter graduated from DU and starred on the DU gymnastics team, is also on the committee.

1 comment:

Charles Dorison said...

I studied with Condi in college. Now she needs me help.