WCHA Announces End Of Season Award Winners

(above) Marc Cheverie was named WCHA Player of the Year today

From: WCHA Website

The University of Denver had four individual award winners to highlight the annual WCHA Awards Banquet and Ceremony today at RiverCentre in Saint Paul, Minn.
Marc Cheverie (Denver) - WCHA Player of the Year

Eli Vlaisavljevich (Michigan Tech) - WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year

Brendan Smith (Wisconsin) - WCHA Defensive Player of the Year,

Danny Kristo (North Dakota) - WCHA Rookie of the Year

Rhett Rakhshani (Denver) - WCHA Scoring Champion

Marc Cheverie (Denver) - WCHA Goaltending Champion

George Gwozdecky (Denver) - WCHA Coach of the Year

University of Denver All-WCHA Selections
1st Team
Marc Cheverie - G
Patrick Wiercioch - D
Rhett Rakhshani - F

2nd Team
Tyler Ruegsegger - F

3rd Team
Joe Colbourne - F

Rookie Team
Matt Donovan - D


dggoddard said...

Players who get in done in the classroom and on the ice need special recognition.

WCHA Scholar-Athletes for 2009-10 who were also WCHA award winners today:

Goaltenders Marc Cheverie of Denver and Brad Eidsness of North Dakota.

Defensemen Patrick Wiercioch of Denver and Garrett Raboin of St. Cloud State

Forwards Rhett Rakhshani, Tyler Ruegsegger and Joe Colborne from Denver.

Raboin joined DU’s Rakhshani and MTU’s Vlaisavljevich among the 10 finalists for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award.

Anonymous said...


puck swami said...

Chevy and Rakhshani are officially in the Hobey Baker Top 10 Finalists...

Anonymous said...

Anyone else surprised Paddy made
1st team? He wasn't great defensively this season.